New Halloween Single: Supernatural Aid!

It’s been a while, but that’s because we’ve been hard at work on the new album (yes, yes, it’s taking forever, but it is an epic of an album in every sense).  In the meantime, however, we have a treat for you: a new single in the grand old horror-disco tradition, complete with a ghostly animated video!

The EP is available to pre-order from iTunes here:

And from all other digital media outlets at wildly varying and mysteriously arbitrary prices.  It’s a four track EP, but you get the A-side straight away, and the other tracks when the single is “officially” released on October the 23rd.

The tracks are:

  1. Supernatural Aid (Chamberlain-King/White)
  2. The Taste of Hair (White)
  3. Corpse (Chamberlain-King/White)
  4. Squeeze Me (White)

You’ll remember Squeeze Me and Taste of Hair from MFMO gigs of yore (we recorded them ages ago but haven’t played them live in a long time).  Corpse is another song that was done for a rejected film soundtrack along with the track Bad Joke off the Dudley EP.

Supernatural Aid is the first single from the forthcoming and long-delayed album The Hero’s Journey, due early 2016.

Next gig: June 22nd at The Boogaloo

Thanks to all who came to our show in Bethnal Green with The Indelicates earlier this month.  It was quite a show!  Exciting for us to collaborate with such kindred spirits, and also an opportunity to showcase some of our own new material from the forthcoming second album.

If you missed it: never fear, we’re gigging again soon, namely at The Boogaloo in Highgate on Sunday, June the 22nd.  The show will start at 5pm, and our guests will be the brilliant Chris T-T and Dubstar’s Sarah Blackwood, both of whom we will be accompanying orchestrally.  We will of course also be playing a full set of MFMO songs old and new, and playing some songs from Martin’s new work-in-progress stage musical “Polly”.

See you at the Boogaloo!

MFMO live 2014!

We are excited to announce our first live show on 2014!

It will be at Bethnal Green Working Men’s Club in London on Tuesday May the 6th.  Doors 7.30pm, MFMO on at 8pm.

We will be playing old favourites and also presenting some brand new material from the forthcoming second studio album “The Hero’s Journey”.

Tickets here

We look forward to seeing you there!

New release: Down The Allotment / Waltzing

What a summer it has been!  Not only have we hosted a summer season of fun shows with a variety of lovely guests, but we have been busy in the studio too. We have some new songs available in the form of an EP called Down The Allotment, featuring the title track (a jaunty prog epic about freeholding), a new song called Waltzing, a live recording of our vague sea shanty Something Something Something In The Morning, and a daft unreleased recording from the dusty MFMO archives called Four Minutes And Thirty-Three Seconds (not 4′ 33″ of silence, let the highly litigious John Cage estate take note). 36119 This collection of songs is available from all online stores if you require an immediate fix (or audio preview), and also in physical form, in hand-crafted packaging, directly from us.  It features a free seed sellotaped to the cover, to get you started on your own gardening efforts.  Only GBP 5.00 including worldwide P&P. Here’s the Paypal link:

Buy Now Button with Credit Cards

Boogaloo japes

Last Sunday’s Boogaloo show was immense fun, thank-you everyone who joined us!

Strawberry & Cream opened the show with their unique sound (two double-basses, harmonies, and a ukulele) and splendid matching dresses.  A particular favourite was their tea song.  Every band should have a tea song.  Ironically we didn’t play ours this time as Steve Pretty was away letting his lips heal after sustaining third degree burns trying to play a solo on an actual teapot rather than a comedy musical prop.  Get well soon Steve!

Next up was Chris T-T, connected to the MFMO rock family tree by so many branches now that it seemed a natural choice to ask him along.  I first saw him playing on a bill with Ben Folds and The Divine Comedy at Shepherd’s Bush Empire about ten years ago and have a been a fan ever since, so it was a real treat not only to have him play at our gig but also to collaborate with him.  Chris entrusted two of his songs (including a brand new one) to me to orchestrate.  We ran through the new one, Tunguska, in the pub cellar before the gig, but the other one, Tall Woman, was performed entirely unrehearsed, with all of us including Chris and me hearing it for the first time in front of the audience.  A seat-of-the-pants experience that thankfully turned out lovely, and which I believe was as much a treat for Chris as it was for us.

We did our MFMO set next, mixing some older tunes with new material as the flea era passes and the material from the new album is ushered in.  We played Belly of the Whale and the new disco number Supernatural Aid, and will be premiering more Hero’s Journey material at forthcoming gigs.  Also receiving its first outing was another glimpse of the still-in-progress epic Adventure On The Transcarpathian Express, this time a ska number about a Ghost Train (yes, an obvious nod to the Specials on that one).

Our set:

  • Waltzing
  • In The Evil Castle
  • An Adventure On The Transcarpathian Express – Part 1
  • Supernatural Aid
  • Belly Of The Whale
  • Something Something Something In The Morning
  • Maybe
  • An Adventure On The Transcarpathian Express – Part 8: Ghost Train
  • Do It Right Or Not At All
  • Dudley & His Magic Pants
  • Thank-You For Not Discussing The Outside World
  • Down The Allotment

The evening’s crowning treat was a headline set from Jim Bob, with whom we have collaborated in various ways in the past (including providing strings for a Carter USM gig at Brixton Academy a couple of years ago).  Jim regaled us with some of his idiosyncratic songwriting on solo guitar, and then the MFMO and Chris T-T crammed into the corner to join in five of Jim’s songs writ large, including a brand new song called Breaking News (again with unrehearsed orchestra!).

The evening closed with a gigantic rendition of Jim’s song ‘Touchy Feely’.  Rhodri had apparently promised Ben on drums a pint for every repeat chorus he instigated, leading to this climactic spectacle:

Larks aplenty.

The pub have invited the MFMO to curate a monthly summer residency, so we’ll be back there on June 30th, July 28th, and August 25th, with our own songs and sets from special guests including Mr B The Gentleman Rhymer, Gary Le Strange, William D Drake, and Martin Carr.  More details on these soon, watch this blog!